Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Top Posters

Vista

beporterbeporter Posts: 123
edited February 2007 in General
So because my company is a Microsoft Partner, they sent us a company copy of Vista Business Edition (which is probably everyone's best bet pricewise, provided you don't have a real Media PC hooked up to your TV). I borrowed a spare HD from work and installed the sucker on my Shuttle Friday night (and yesterday, and today). So far, I have two initial reactions that are not necessarily connected to each other:
  • Well, this doesn't really have anything all that special.
  • Huh... wait: everything that is new compared to XP doesn't look new to me because I've been doing it on my Mac for the past 2 years.
[p]Seriously though, this is the most un-impressive release I've ever seen. I can't FIND anything because the CHANGED everything. The new "features" (like requiring your approval to open EVERY SINGLE CONTROL PANEL) drive you nuts immediately and make you turn them off, and there's no software.

[p]THe firsst thing I did was install Firefox, then Steam, then Guild Wars.GW works great by the way, once you replace the stock Microsoft graphics driver with one from your card's manufacturer. Steam installs, but crashes if you try to run the hardware survey with an "unrecognized version of Windows" error. Half-Life and CS run too, but HL2 wouldn't even launch for me, even after forcing software rendering mode. Looks like there's some work to be done.